Our NOLA Nuptials: The Party Never Ends

After the money dance was over, Mom BF informed me that we should change into our “going away” outfits since our reception was almost over, time wise. So, I went in the back and Mom BF helped me change into my going away dress. I got my dress at JCPenney’s for about $30. Ironically, it sort of matched our favor boxes’ pattern.

After that was done, Mr. BF went in the room to change. In the meantime, I tried to help Mom BF load my luggage in Mr. BF’s car, while people were still dancing around. Then I heard it: the beginning of the second line!

Instinctively, I ran back in there to see what was going on! The second line dance is notoriously the last dance where the bride/groom lead the line of guests around the dance floor. Bride/groom wave fancy umbrellas, guests wave napkins. It’s fun. There are tons of videos on YouTube if you’re curious to see one in action.

So, I go inside, and Mr. BF is still changing. I start freaking out. WHERE is our reception coordinator? WHY did she tell the DJ to play when clearly the bride/groom weren’t around? I just had this sad feeling in the pit of my stomach that this is the end of the reception, and we weren’t going to be involved.

Here’s some pictures taken by our photographer. Everyone seemed to be having a blast. :\ Like, seriously, Miss R was getting down and even Dad BF got in on the fun!

Images courtesy of Amanda Meyer Photography

I tried not to get too mad about this, but the music ended and with that, it was over. I was holding back tears at this moment.

Note: I hope I don’t sound too bridezilla here. It’s just that I love this New Orleans tradition and even put together our umbrellas for it. I wanted to do this with Mr. BF, but it was too late, or so I thought.

Thankfully, BIL BF insisted that we had a re-do to the DJ. He could tell that I was pretty bothered by our coordinator’s mistake, so the DJ was going to do it. 

Sadly, our photographer was gone. This dance wasn’t captured by our photographer, because of course, that dance marks the end of the wedding. I’m not blaming her at all for this.

Luckily, Mr. BF’s coworker captured these pictures for us, and he had a pretty nice camera. I found these to be fairly good pictures, if I do say so myself. Here’s our second line; the way it should have been the first time.

I’m pretty sure Mr. BF felt a little out of his element with a boa-lined umbrella, but heck, where else, other than New Orleans, can you get away with this?

Even my great-uncle took to the dance floor for this one. The second line just brings out the party animal in everyone! :)

My guests were having a great time, and I was SHOCKED to see how many people were still at the reception for the end of it. I know a lot of people leave after the cake cutting, at least in my experience.

Nope, not my guests. I’d like to think the free booze, king cake and music requests kept them at the party. Just a note to the brides, “no-play” lists are not a necessity. Give your DJ a playlist some songs you want to dance to, and that’s all you’ll remember. Apparently, “The Chicken Dance” and “Macarena” were requested while we were mingling with guests. I have no recollection of this. All I remember is “Jump on It”, the one and only song I wanted to shake my booty to.

Can I borrow this kid’s energy? He seriously was a party animal, and loved waving that napkin around.

Funny moment of the day in photo: I’d like to thank Mr. BF’s coworker for taking this shot. Mr. BF, you are BUSTED!

After the second line dance was over, there was this moment captured between us. Looking at this picture, you can tell what we’re thinking.

Bride: OMG…wait a second…it’s over. No more DIY invites, no more wedding planning, what the heck is happening?!? What will I do now?!

Groom: I know what we’re gonna be doing tonight! ::wink wink::

And with that folks, that is our big day. The day where we had a wonderful time with family and friends, where my new last name became amazingly easier to pronounce, and of course, the day where we became husband and wife.

Thanks so much for being there for me during the planning process. You all lent me wonderful advice, tips and were sontinuously there for me during my vents. Thanks for patiently reading through my recaps, despite them almost taking a year! (Our anniversary is Sunday!) Since becoming a bee, I felt like I’ve gained many wonderful friendships here, and that has made me the happiest Ballet Flat you could ever imagine. 

Now that I’m a Mrs., my blogging has become more heavily focused on the cooking/baking side. If you’re interested in my kitchen adventures, feel free to follow me over at The Nifty Foodie. I do have a life blog in there as well, where I’m constantly struggling to be as cool as Martha Stewart. :)

Here’s the grand list of recaps, y’all!
Our NOLA Nuptials: The Bridals
Our NOLA Nuptials: Laissez Les Bons Temps Rouler!

Our NOLA Nuptials: Practice Makes Perfect

Our NOLA Nuptials: It Was All a Blur
Our NOLA Nuptials: Poof, Spray and a Lie
Our NOLA Nuptials: The Finishing Touches
Our NOLA Nuptials: Walk it Out
Our NOLA Nuptials: Making it Official (Part 1)
Our NOLA Nuptials: Making it Official (Part 2)
Our NOLA Nuptials: Some Afterthoughts

Our NOLA Nuptials: At First Glance
Our NOLA Nuptials: Smiles All Around
Our NOLA Nuptials: Dancing Klutz
Our NOLA Nuptials: Just Dance
Our NOLA Nuptials: Charmed
Our NOLA Nuptials: Time for Dessert
Our NOLA Nuptials: Put a Ring on It
Our NOLA Nuptials: The Money Maker

One Response to Our NOLA Nuptials: The Party Never Ends

  1. Aw, it stinks when things like that go wrong :( But on the upside, it looks like your guests were having an amazing time! Not everyone has a wedding that’s actually fun for the entire guest list! You lucked out!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

