Could I be a BUFF BRIDE??

Psshh…I wish! At 260 something pounds, I could WISH to be a buff bride. However, I’m trying to lose weight before the wedding. No, not 100 lbs exactly, but hoping for 50. I know I won’t be the buff bride everyone thinks of, but to me, I’ll be at my lowest weight as an adult, and by that, I’ll feel GREAT!!

If you want before pictures, check out our e-pics ;). So, a few weeks ago, I asked, who is gonna take on the task of whipping my butt into shape for this?? Well, it didn’t take me long to think back a year ago…..

Last year, my fiance and I applied for Season 5 of the Biggest Loser Couples. We didn’t hear a word from casting (probably because our video was lame) but we were determined to peel the pounds away! I remember thinking, I want Jillian Michaels to kick my butt! I want her to make me cry, whine and then in the end, I would be stronger, beautiful and most importantly, healthy!! So who else would train me for my big day??

Image source

While I don’t have tens of thousands of dollars to book her personally, I decided to consult the resources I could afford. In comes amazon.com. Oh, my love for amazon.com…I’ll save that for another post. Anyways, here’s trainer Jillian in her HIGHLY popular 30 Day Shred.

Image source

This video is wonderful. It’s set up like a circuit workout, where in little time you are burning the most calories possible, because you are working with several muscle groups at once! There are 3 sets of circuits, each 6 minutes each (3 minutes strength, 2 minutes cardio, 1 minute abs) It has 3 levels of workouts, and I recommend you start at level 1 (no matter your fitness level). You only need to buy handweights (I bought 3 lbs. and that’s QUITE a challenge here) and a yoga mat if you are working out on a hard floor (trust me, push-ups on a hard floor will hurt you!).

This workout only takes 20ish minutes, and you WILL be sore and crying after the workout. However, you will notice clothes fitting better and you, in general, just feeling better! I know after I workout, I feel like I can climb Everest…ok, maybe not Everest, but maybe the Mississippi River Levee near my home. 😉

I lost 4 lbs my first two weeks doing the Shred (in combination with Weight Watchers). It’s not that much, but hey, you carry a 4 lb dumbbell and you will see just about what 4 lbs feels like! I will admit though, lately, I’ve lagged in my workouts and diet, but I’m back on track and I’m sure Jillian will kill me all over again! I kinda can’t wait! 🙂 Bring on the pain, Jillian!

If you’re a bride, are you trying to be a buff bride? If so, what’s your regime looking like?

One Response to Could I be a BUFF BRIDE??

  1. Meghan says:

    Thanks to your inspiration, I am trying to be a buff bride! I bought Jillian’s entire collection, and I can’t wait to start!

Leave a Reply

