Did you miss me?

Hehe..just kidding. I do have an excuse for my absence, I promise!!

May I introduce to you the man that took over my life (and millions of others)..no, not David Beckham, gosh!

Gustav…ugh!

Source: NASA/Wunderground

So, Gustav made landfall in Louisiana, where I’m from, on Labor Day (sheesh, thanks a lot!). My family evacuated to Joey’s house, which ironically got hit harder than New Orleans. People are gonna be without power for up to 3 weeks. Probably about 80% of the nation is unaware of this, because they concentrated on the levees in New Orleans holding up (which they did). However, say a prayer for Baton Rouge and other parishes…this storm was brutal! I didn’t want to take damage photos of other’s property to respect privacy during this sad time, but I can say Oak trees that were over 100 years old were uprooted.

Things you don’t think of are the lines. Here are some examples of the waits!

1. We waited in line at Whole Foods (only place guaranteed to have ice) for 2 hours two days after the storm.
2. Joey and I waited in line at Jambalaya Shoppe for almost 2 hours as well the day after the storm to get a hot meal for the family.
3. Lines for gas were 4-5 hrs. long. People with generators had to fill up their cans and some people plainly didn’t care to fill up before the storm.  (thank GOD we filled up before!)

Anyways, enough of my rant…back to wedding planning stuff.

During Gustav, I was pretty productive. Wedding wise, I made one set of jewelry for my bridesmaids. While this sounds not so productive, you have to understand, I kept second guessing myself!! Believe it or not, Joey had some input on the jewelry design and ultimately, some of his ideas were used!!

Check out the bling and let me know what you think!!

Are you considering DIYing your jewelry for you and/or your bridal party?

2 Responses to Did you miss me?

  1. Trina says:

    I’m probably not supposed to see them, but Amy, omgosh, they are gorgeous!!! i can’t wait!!! Bring them with you this weekend and I can help make some!!!!!

    ILY!

  2. Teresa says:

    You did a great job, they all came out beautiful…and yes I’m considering DIYing for jewelry, if not mine, definitely my bridal party. I’m also having my two sisters as bridesmaids and one friend. So only three necklaces and three pairs of earrings. I’m gonna try wire and bead, wish me luck. Oh and my colors are wine and orange (yes, it’s a fall wedding, October 10th.) I’m gonna bookmark your blog, it was very informative 🙂

Leave a Reply

