Hello Hive!

Hi everyone! I’m Miss Ballet Flat, and I’m really excited to be here in the hive! Weddingbee was one of the first wedding blogs that I discovered, and I just knew that I wanted to be a blogger here! Many of the Weddingbees constantly inspire me in my wedding planning, and I really hope to return the favor to other brides. Imagine my surprise when I was officially named Miss Ballet Flat!

I am a GIS (geographic information systems) analyst, which is a fancy name really for a map maker. However, I like the GIS analyst title better, because it’s a great conversation starter, and it makes me feel smarter! I majored in Geography Sciences at LSU (Geaux Tigers!), and I always kept myself busy around campus, being involved in about 4 extra-curricular organizations. So, after graduation, I feel like I hit a lull in work. Now that I’m engaged, I have something to definitely keep me busy for the next 8 months!

On a side note, in case you were wondering, yes, I’m a huge, wacky football fan. I even painted my face every game for my senior year! I learned to love the game at LSU. I mean, how could you not with 90,000+ other people cheering the same way as you every Saturday night in the Fall? For your viewing entertainment, here I am in my painted face glory. My face reads “Beat Bama” (sorry Bama fans!).

I chose to be Miss Ballet Flat, because I’m 5’11”. I would love to wear heels often, but I feel like I tower over people. So, I wear flats, a lot. Mr. Ballet Flat and I are about the same height as well, and I don’t like being taller than him either!

Enough about me, let’s talk about how we got here! Our story is a little bit out of the ordinary. Mr. Ballet Flat and I met when I was a junior at LSU through Yahoo Messenger. Our relationship only lasted a month, but we sporatically chatted over IM after the break up. Fast forward to my 5th year in school…something just happened. We were talking on the phone one night, and I really can’t remember the details of the conversation, but by the end of the night, we wanted to give dating another shot. 16 wonderful months later, on my birthday, we were engaged!!

I’m so excited about being a part of the hive! I can’t wait to share with you my ideas, projects and eventually, pictures of the big day!! Thanks for reading!!

Leave a Reply

