A fun trip to Dallas

I have 3 bridesmaids and a maid of honor in my bridal party for the big day. One of them lives in Dallas, so I knew I would HAVE to go see her because:

  1. We are literally like sisters and haven’t seen each other in a long time.
  2. Dallas…hello? Compare that to Louisiana…that’s a big city!

Miss K and I started making a list of things to do in Dallas. The main thing to do was, of course, getting a bridesmaid dress for her at Alfred Angelo. Then, the list grew and grew! Here was the list of what we wanted to do!

  1. Alfred Angelo
  2. Paper-Source
  3. Penzey’s (for the foodies…this is an AWESOME spice store)
  4. Corner Bakery
  5. Melting Pot
  6. Sprinkles Cupcakes
  7. Sam-Moon
  8. Dave and Buster’s
  9. Cheesecake Factory
  10. Express Jeans (big sale on denim for Miss K)
  11. Panera (due to forgetfulness, this didn’t happen)

We got it all done that weekend, and funny thing is, this bad boy was beaming down on us the weekend of the trip.


Image source

Yay! I just can’t seem to escape these things…can I? So, the flight up on Friday actually wasn’t so bad. That morning in New Orleans was VERY windy (tropical storm/weak hurricane force) and caused a lot of flooding in the area. Thankfully, my flight was in the afternoon and not cancelled. Oh, and I SWEAR John Goodman was on my flight in First Class, but I was too shy to beg for a picture. The takeoff was bumpy, but the rest was smooth sailing. 🙂

Of course, we realized that Saturday afternoon Ike would hit Dallas potentially. So, we knew we had to get our shopping done in the morning very quickly. (Are we crazy or what?) So, we started our morning with a jolt of Starbucks and headed out to shop :). There are really no pictures of the trip, hive. I meant to, really I did, but with the looming hurricane, we were in a rush! I’ll only describe the wedding related shopping though to spare you the details of foodie paradise :).

I guess in a potential hurricane, no one wants to go dress shopping. So, Alfred Angelo’s was EMPTY. By the way, teal brides…Alfred Angelo’s tealness color is B-E-A-UTIFUL!

I’ll give you a peek of what dress she ended up picking.


Image source

Now, I want my bridesmaids to wear a tea length dress. So, Miss K is ultra creative, and is getting a tailor to hem the dress to a tea length. I can’t wait to see it. This dress is GORGEOUS! Oh and did I mention that she scored this dress for $20 off? Yep! There was a sale too!

Then, we were off to Sam-Moon. We ended up walking around the store, and wow, what a warehouse that place was! I’m not into crowds, so we didn’t stay very long. However, Miss K did surprise me with a gorgeous purse that is currently at my fiance’s (well hidden, I promise).

Afterwards, we went to the mall, and I was SO anxious to see Paper Source. Wow…if only I wasn’t on a budget (personally). I would have gone WILD in there!! I ended up buying RSVP cards and envelopes in a beautiful Stardream Opal.

I’ll have to keep you ladies in suspense as to what the Stardream looks like in real life :). I’m totally excited about pretty opal paper! Originally, my RSVP was going to be a VistaPrint postcard like my Save the Dates as well, but hey, let’s go a little crazy, shall we?

After all the mad rush of shopping, we went back to Miss K’s apartment and looked at the radar to see if our reservations for Melting Pot would still be on that night. Thankfully, Dallas sustained very minimal rain (misty) and a couple of feels-too-good-in-the-summer gusts. Ike, in the end for us, was no big deal on this trip. (Though I’m truly sorry to anyone in the hive who sustained damages from Ike…believe me, I feel your pain 😦 .)

We ended up, out of boredom, making all of the bridesmaid’s earrings together and working out a new template for the necklace that included more teal beads (which was something I wanted really badly). Here is Miss K modeling the jewelry set in all its glory. I promise a DIY tutorial post on the necklaces soon. Here’s the post about how to make the earrings, if you missed it.

She’s totally ready for the wedding fun! 🙂

All in all, it was SUCH a fun trip going to Dallas to see Miss K! I can’t wait for Miss K to visit me again for adventure GOCCO around the holidays (yes, I’m a GOCCO bride).

What kind of fun shenanigans have you and your bridesmaids gotten into?

Leave a Reply

