Baby Steps, right?

training
Image source

This is going to be one of the hardest things I’ve ever posted about myself on here. As you all (may) know, I’m a plus sized girl. A couple of weeks ago, I asked for a push from you guys, and so many of you offered great advice and tips that I’m slowly incorporating into my lifestyle. I appreciate it so much!

Weight loss has always been hard for me. I’ve tried SO many diets, only to let myself down or even think, well, tomorrow is another day. I’ve applied for Biggest Loser, pouring my heart out and dreaming of the day Jillian would make me break down and realize the reason I’m this way. Of course, it didn’t happen, but in watching contestants change their lives in less than a year, I realized I can do this.

Yesterday, on my iPod, I had my music on shuffle and a song came on that I was jamming to in the car. One line in particular really caught my attention. The song is from the musical, Rent (Finale B). The line is “No day but today.”

All of those times I’ve told myself “tomorrow” or “eventually” isn’t going to happen anymore. I told Mr. Ballet Flat that I’ve had enough. I’m changing. Mr. Ballet Flat even caught the bug. He told me to throw away EVERYTHING that is junk food. Let’s just say I threw out a whole garbage bag of food last night (it was already opened, otherwise, I would have food banked it). Being the foodie that I am, I purchased this cookbook. I watch her show on Food Network, and while she isn’t my absolute favorite on the channel, her recipes sound promising.

training1

Image source

Another change I made? I went to the YMCA and joined on Monday! So far, I worked out Monday and had my fitness assessment done Wednesday. There was all SORTS of bad news from that. The test was comprised of 3 minutes non-stop on a (super high) step block, 1 minute of doing as many crunches as I can, and a stretch to the ruler test. I also had my blood pressure, BMI and body fat % taken.

Here is my brutal honesty. I want to be accountable here, and these numbers WILL change at my next assessment in a couple of months!

Results? I have the flexibility of a 65 yr old (no joke), I got WAY tired after 1 minute of steps, like was huffing and puffing LOUD (when it’s usually 2 minutes for healthier folks), and I was “poor” in my crunches number. My BMI was 36.6, body fat is 43.3% (hello? my body is almost 50% FAT!) and the only good thing to come of this? My blood pressure is normal :). Whew! Now, I knew I was unfit, but MAN, this is really bad y’all! I’m only 24!

This will change. They are building a fitness plan for me to do for the next couple of months, and I can’t wait to see what comes of it! I can do this!!

Have any of you been surprised (for the bad) by your fitness/health?

One Response to Baby Steps, right?

  1. Marianne says:

    Amy, congrats on your baby steps! I think that those baby steps add up to a huge jump to get you started on a healthier lifestyle.

    I’m a plus-size gal too, and I’ve tried to lose weight in the past with mixed success. Lately, I’ve been thinking about how much I want a long, healthy life with my fiance, and that’s got me focusing on improving my health through diet and exercise. If I lose weight too? Hooray! 😉

    Best of luck to you on your journey!

Leave a Reply

