My life changes so far…

I realized in reading comments from my last post, that I haven’t really discussed with y’all how I am changing my life towards a healthier lifestyle.

I am taking very small steps here, because cold turkey just never works for me. I haven’t had an ounce of soda since October, so that was something that I didn’t have to give up really. Trust me soda drinkers, it’s not that bad to give it up and you actually begin to CRAVE water. The thought of those burpy bubbles going in my system isn’t so appealing anymore. πŸ™‚

Here are some things I’ve changed:

water
Image source (aren’t these just the cutest??)

* 64 oz. of water everyday. I bought a Sigg bottle to be more eco-friendly, so we don’t buy water bottles as much! (I’m way less tired and hungry doing this!!)

* No more fast food on weekdays. I cook/prepare my meals.

* At least 3 workouts/week, each being 1 hour or more (2 of those being kickboxing class at the Y!)

* Bring my own snacks to work (no more vending machines for me!)
book3
Image source

* Log all food in a journal to watch my progress! (I use this book, as recommended by Ashlee of “Ash is Fit”. Her blog is SO inspirational by the way…she’s 80 lbs. down so far!)

Here are some things I will change soon:

* Make my own breakfast. I currently eat grits from the cafeteria (real southern girl breakfast there!) with nothing added.
* Start the Couch to 5k program on off days from kickboxing class.
* Incorporate more vegetables and fruit in my diet.
* Branch away from chicken meals.
* Venture away from boredom eating vs. eating to feel full (this is a HUGE problem. I’m losing weight currently, but I’m sure it will slow down soon if I don’t get this under control.)

As far as diet goes, I’m following the Weight Watchers program. I used to be a member, but found the meetings to just not help much. I have the books from the program and with the internet (especially the hive!), I have support I need. I also like to switch up days to play with my metabolism using the Wendie Plan. This makes you add up all of your points for the week, then divide the points into high and low point days. Its supposed to keep your metabolism guessing, and so far, it has. πŸ™‚

**I have some motivational tricks that I’ve learned through meetings and also, just reading a lot.**

Paperclip chain – keep a chain of paperclips in your purse or at your desk at work. 1 paperclip represents 1 lb. down. So, I have a chain of 10 in my purse currently. If I want to splurge, I look at this and think about the weight I’ve lost so far. I don’t want to ruin my work for a lame cheeseburger!!

Weights – I (now) lift a 10 lb. weight when I go to the Y to see how far I’ve come. Just to see, this is how much pressure is off my body to walk, run, do whatever. For workouts, I lift more than this, but it’s good to feel a reminder of progress.

Quotes – these are from Jillian Michaels. Her book, Winning by Losing, is absolutely inspiring and has many more quotes. She just wrote this book, understanding where an obese person comes from. It’s not just, do this and that. It helps you realize TODAY is the time to change. If you are looking to lose a good bit of weight, this book is EXCELLENT!

The past does not define, you the present does.” Jillian Michaels

Unless You Puke, Faint or Die, Keep Going!” Jillian Michaels (I love it when she said this in Biggest Loser!)

As for working out, I attend kickboxing class on Monday and Wednesdays for an hour. I’m probably the largest person there, but I know that even if I need to ask the instructor for modifications, I’m changing my life and one day I won’t NEED those modifications. Everyone has to start from somewhere, so I’m no longer embarrassed by my jiggles in class! πŸ™‚ For Tuesday and/or Thursday, I have a weight lifting regime that was set up for me by a fitness trainer at the Y. I usually combine this with some walking in the evening with Mr. Ballet Flat. I rest on the weekend, for now. πŸ™‚

If you are leaning towards a more healthy lifestyle, what are the initial changes you made inΒ  your life?

2 Responses to My life changes so far…

  1. Jennifer says:

    I did the Couch to 5k program last spring and thought it was a great fitness program. Congrats on all your hard work and progress so far!!

  2. Andria says:

    Just surfing though and stumbled across your blog.

    Hang in there! It sounds like you’re doing everything that you can to get you to where you need to be. I wish I could borrow some of your motivation!

    Best of luck to you!

Leave a Reply

