I’m feeling crafty!

You know, I’ve been pretty content post-wedding as far as no more planning goes. I know a lot of brides get withdrawals from anticipating the big day or even from planning.  I mean, you plan for anywhere from months to a few years and it’s all over in a day? That’s kind of a bummer, don’t you think? Well, I don’t miss the contracts, the time lines,  worrying about how I will look. I don’t miss it at all.

What do you think I miss the most? C’mon hive, you know me…you know this!

Picture1

I miss the crafts – the DIY projects, the ideas, the brainstorming….le sigh. I caught myself on my way to Hobby Lobby thinking about the bridal aisle and had to stop myself. Why do I still think about the bridal aisle? Ugh…

I even had to return some stuff to Michael’s last week because I was over-ambitious in my DIY project ideas for the wedding. Oops! 🙂

It’s hard to move on from a list of projects to do. So, I brainstormed a little and made myself some projects to do!

I’m going back into cake decorating (for a hobby, not business)! WeddingBee PRO Melody from Sweet and Saucy Shop made me realize how much I miss it. Now, I’m not anywhere NEARLY as talented as she is, but I really had fun making cakes pretty, and the compliments were always great!

I enrolled in Wilton Course 3, which is tiered cakes and fondant, mainly.

Wilton3
Image source

I’ve taken a fondant and gumpaste course (along with buttercream/royal icing courses as well), but I feel like taking the last Wilton class will give me cake decorating closure, if that makes any sense. Ha!

Also, if that doesn’t keep me busy enough, I’m going back to my crafting roots – cross-stitching. I know, I’m going from 25 to 65 with this craft, but it’s really what got me into crafts. I used to do this for contests in 4-H (nerd alert) in middle school! My friend is expecting a baby girl in the late Fall, and so, I volunteered to stitch up this cute piece of art for her!

jungle
Image source

I hope this fills the void in the crafty part of my brain that is sadly having withdrawals. What are you DIY brides going to do after the wedding? Are you going to continue your wedding crafts as a business or start some new ones for leisure?

Leave a Reply

