Our NOLA Nuptials: At First Glance

Hello Hive! It’s been a few months since I recapped our ceremony, and I must apologize for leaving you hanging after the ceremony. I mean, c’mon, there’s now a PARTY to recap, right? So, here’s a few glimpses around the reception hall, just like the ones our guests had as they walked in. πŸ™‚

Here is our gorgeous cake. Believe it or not, this is buttercream. They got it super smooth for me. I was impressed…I wish I could get my cakes to look this smooth! We also got the florist to put a mini bouquet on top of the cake as our cake topper. It was absolutely beautiful, and we couldn’t wait to dig in!

149

That’s right folks! We had king cake as our groom’s cake for the reception. It was May, and I’m pretty sure 99% of our guests were having king cake withdrawals since Mardi Gras was about 3 months before the wedding. We got it in LSU colors (Geaux Tigers!) instead of the traditional Mardi Gras colors of purple, green and gold.

145

Here is the throw-away bouquet with our cake server set. I didn’t want to spend too much on a cake server set that we’d probably never use again, so I bought a generic set for 50% off at Hobby Lobby.

151

These were one of my favorite DIY projects. I Gocco’ed napkins a la Mrs. Cream Puff and Mrs. Cupcake. I love how these came out and guests were repeatedly asking for my vendor. πŸ™‚ They couldn’t believe I made these!

150

These are our favor boxes. We purchased these from the BRIDE’s line at Michaels and subbed a teal ribbon, instead of the included ivory ribbon. Our favors were our favorite candies: I love Hershey Kisses and Mr. Ballet Flat loves soft dinner mints! Edible is always a hit! We made one per guest and maybe had 5 leftover, thank goodness!

152

Here were our disposable cameras with the place card and favor boxes. The cameras were a hit! They were all filled up by the end of the evening, and we got some semi-decent pictures from them. πŸ™‚

We can’t find any pictures of the mini Moo cards that we got for online uploading. We thought that would be a good thing, hoping for tons of pics in our Flick’r account, but nope, maybe 30 pictures were uploaded total. Ugh…

We also nixed centerpieces, since the reception venue had tea lights. This alone saved us over $1000, according to the florist’s estimates. No one really seemed to mind. πŸ™‚

Here is a picture of our cake table with all of the bouquets, and our champagne flutes, which were a gift from my godmother. This is one of my favorite wedding shots of the day, because it just features so much from our big day!

282

You might have noticed from my planning blog posts that a lot of little projects were planned for the reception. Towards the end of planning, I did do a lot of evaluating and realized that these little projects were adding unnecessary stress, so I nixed them. In the end, really, it didn’t turn out to be a big deal, because no one noticed. In fact, I received tons of compliments on things like the open bar and all you can eat gumbo. Haha…shows what guests REALLY care about!

Just a little tip for you brides who are nearing the end of planning and stressing out: no one will know if you didn’t do some of the little projects you planned. πŸ˜‰

Stay tuned for smile-palooza! πŸ™‚

Images courtesy of Amanda Meyer Photography

Previous recaps:
Our NOLA Nuptials: The Bridals
Our NOLA Nuptials: Laissez Les Bons Temps Rouler!

Our NOLA Nuptials: Practice Makes Perfect

Our NOLA Nuptials: It Was All a Blur
Our NOLA Nuptials: Poof, Spray and a Lie
Our NOLA Nuptials: The Finishing Touches
Our NOLA Nuptials: Walk it Out
Our NOLA Nuptials: Making it Official (Part 1)
Our NOLA Nuptials: Making it Official (Part 2)
Our NOLA Nuptials: Some Afterthoughts

Leave a Reply

